In the news: Louisiana retains 365-day waiting period for divorce

computer pad phone.jpg

How long does it take to get divorced? Although the issue was recently up for debate, Louisiana lawmakers ultimately rejected a proposal to shorten the 365-day waiting period to 180 days. For now, couples with minor children will need to live in two separate homes for at least 365 days before they can obtain a no-fault divorce.

If you have questions about your own divorce timeline, contact a family law attorney in your area to arrange for a consultation.


This post and any comments below do not constitute legal advice or form an attorney-client relationship. Please consult a licensed attorney in your state if you have questions regarding your personal circumstances.